BTC Motorsport 2018 Championship win - Bridgwater & Taunton College

The BTC Motorsport team are celebrating a brilliant win at the BRSCC Championship Awards Dinner 2018 over the weekend.

At the event, Josh Smith was awarded the ‘2018 Overall Champion & Class C Winner’ trophy. This is a huge accolade and a result of incredible teamwork and dedication from our student-run race team. It was great to also have students Kris (2018 Race Team Manager) and Rhys (2018 Assistant Race Team Manager) there to receive the award!

The British Racing and Sports Car Club (BRSCC) is one of the major organisers of motorsport events in the UK. Josh and the BTC Motorsport team have competed in BRSCC championships for a number of years and have done incredibly well to take this trophy home several times.

Josh said,

“It’s been another great year for me and the team, we have now won 4 championships overall in 6 years which is amazing. Our middle part of the season was a huge success with 9 back to back outright wins whilst we had 14 perfect scores out of 18 races.”

The Bridgwater & Taunton College Motorsport Team consists of a student-led and run race team.  On a race weekend the students carry out a variety of tasks including setting up the race awning, tooling and equipment, unloading the race car, preparing the vehicle for scrutineering, carrying out pre and post-race checks, general maintenance and repair of the vehicle, track side activity on the pit wall and packing away at the end of a race weekend.

Read more about the team and the fantastic season they have just had in their new blog post here.

© 2020 Bridgwater & Taunton College, Bath Road, Bridgwater, Somerset, TA6 4PZ, United Kingdom | Terms / Privacy / Cookies | Accessibility Made by Wave